The Meeker County Sheriff’s Office recognized law enforcement officers, first responders, medical care providers and locals during a lifesaving award ceremony Feb. 4.

The first set of awards went to Chief Ernie Junker, Deputy Ben Stock, Deputy Ernie Defries, Eden Valley Fire and Rescue members, North Memorial Air Care members, and David Lipinski, who rescued Elizabeth Lipinski of Manannah, who was caught in an auger on June 20.

The second set of awards went to Deputy Josh Case, Deputy Ben Stock, paramedic Dominique Kuechle, paramedic Ryan Burgess, Brandon Wiehr, Patrick Reagan and Sydney Bramer who rescued Scott Brandel. Brandel began experiencing chest pains and problem with his pacemaker on July 28, 2018, when help arrived.

The third set of awards went to Dassel Fire and Rescue, Allina Ambulance and Meeker County Deputies Ryan Shaefer and Brian Bondhus for rescuing Alex Zobel who was laying on his bed unresponsive on Sept. 18, 2019.

The fourth set of awards went to Detective Dan Lang who rescued Alex Pazahanick. Pazahanick was riding on a tube pulled by a motorboat on Big Swan Lake, when he fell off the tube and was hit by a boat’s propeller on May 26, 2019.

The last set of awards went to Linda and Thomas Rozeske and Mitch Thurber, who saved the life of Nicholas Arens, who was unconscious in his vehicle in a ditch north of Kingston. Arens’ vehicle was on fire when Mitch Thurber put his own life in danger breaking the vehicle’s window and pulled Nicholas out and to safety before first responders arrived on Jan. 16, 2019.